Book Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

“She? You named a girl cat Owen?”
“Shh. She can understand you. Don’t give her a complex.”

“I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.”

Rating: ★★★★★

confess

It’s a Colleen Hoover world, and I’m having a blissful time living in it.

THIS BOOK WAS PURE PERFECTION.

It was so intense, dramatic, heartbreaking, sexy, heartwarming, literally ALL THE FEELS.
Collen has a magnificent talent for capturing the reader’s attention and heart right off the bat, it’s truly haunting how fast I got attached to the story; during the first 10 pages of the book I was already crying my eyes out. She truly has a gift for making it so easy to feel so much for the characters, and for being slightly too invested in the story.

I’m pretty new to the “New Adult(see what I did there?/Contemporary” scene. Colleen Hoover’s books are the ones that are opening up this genre to me, and I feel like they’re spectacular books to start with. I’m going in to each of her books completely blind, not knowing the synopsis, only the basics of the basics, because I feel like it’s the best way to go into these types of books.

These characters were so relatable, it hurts. OWEN IS BAE and I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT HIS BEAUTIFUL SOUL. Auburn was SUCH a GREAT CHARACTER, she had many depths and some aspects of her were truly beautiful. The connection these two characters had felt so real, and so undeniable, I was rooting for them from the start. Their banter was #goals and YOU CAN’T SAY OTHERWISE. I mean… remember the bar scene? DO YOU REMEMBER THE BAR SCENE? THE 10-SECOND DANCE SCENE? Come oooooooon *heart-shaped eyes emoji* One of my other favorite scenes was when she got drunk, and cut his hair…. oh my GOSH that was epic. I was laughing so MUCH, the entire scene where she was drunk was just comedic perfection.

I have to say that the concept of this book intrigued me SO MUCH, the idea that there’s an art studio called Confess, where people, anonymously place their confessions in a slot outside the studio, and then the artist there takes inspiration from those confession…that’s amazing. That’s something I would love to see in reality. One thing that I found incredibly unique from this book was the usage of real confessions from readers, that’s amazing. And then to have the images of some of the paintings inspired by those confessions. that was genius, and haunting, and beautiful, and inspiring, and just…utterly breathtaking.

Ok, now..let’s get into the nitty gritty part.

OWEN: He was beautiful. Everything was beautiful. He’s soulmate worthy, and I live and breathe for him. The way he just ADORES Auburn was so captivating, and the final scene where we finally see where he’d seen her for the first time, and the painting. UGH. BEAUTIFUL.

Auburn: she was such a great female character to read from. When we learn about AJ, oh my gosh that shocked me. I did NOT see that coming. And the way that she made decisions always having AJ in mind, it’s just #goals.

Trey: No amount of words will ever describe the hatred I feel for him. I’ve had to delete this portion of the review various times because I just start typing curse words, and I no. This is a family show, people.

Lydia: Ugh. I don’t even want to talk about her.. I mean, I get where she’s coming from, she was using AJ as a way to get back the son she lost, but DUDE. BACK OFF. HONESTLY.

Owen’s father: I had so many issues with him. Letting his son take the fall for him was just not right and I guess it was better for the long run, because thanks to him Auburn was able to fix her sh*t, but I just hate how Owen had to deal with his dad’s mistakes.

I wish we’d gotten more of a resolution at the end, because we do get a snippet, but NOT ENOUGH. I wanted to see more of an ending, maybe an epilogue where we could see how truly their life panned out, but oh well. Still a fantastic book.

Ok, I think that’s really all I have to say about this book, I completely loved it, I want MORE from these CHARACTERS, I hope she ties in their story in another book so we can see a bit more of them… COLLEEN PLEASE MAKE THAT HAPPEN. Ok, seriously I’m done now. UGH such a good book. OK, BYE.


Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

  1. Sakina says:

    I’m also new to the “New Adult” genre. I just finished reading Landline by Rainbow Rowell and I think one of the reasons I didn’t “love” it as much was probably because I’m just not into contemporary. I haven’t tried Colleen Hoover yet though. Love your blog! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • itsabookishthing13 says:

      I really enjoyed Landline, it was my first “New Adult contemporary” book, and I was SO into it, but I already love YA contemporary, so it wasn’t a hard transition. Thank you, your blog is beautiful too *million heart-eyes emojis*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

