Book Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

“She “loved me” in quotations. She kissed me in bold. I TRIED TO KEEP HER in all caps. She left with an ellipsis . . .”

Rating: ★★★★★

november 9

So I read this book cover to cover in one sitting. I need many minutes to assess & determine my state.

….

….

Ok, I’m back. So where to start.

This is my first Colleen Hoover, and it absolutely blew me away. I have so many emotions, so many feels, so many thoughts, I need to get started on this review.

First of all I have to say that this was the PERFECT book I could’ve reached for right now, because after reading Passenger, I really wanted to read a fast-paced short book, to get out of the reading slump I was under while reading Passenger, which took me about 12 days to read, and it’s barely twice the size of this book, which I read in about 5 hours. Yeah.

I went in with this book with ZERO expectations, because I just knew that she was a fantastic writer, because that’s all I ever hear, but I didn’t really know what this book about, so it was amazing just reading and finding out on the way. It went places I NEVER thought it would go to, and at one point I heavily considered chucking this book out my window, but I powered through, and I’M SO HAPPY I DID. I’m absolutely obsessed with this book right now.

Ok, I’m going to start with the actual REVIEW now. If you haven’t read it, and you don’t want to be spoiled, please stop reading this, and go pick it up, you’ll fly through it! Read it, and then we’ll discuss. Kay? KAY 🙂

The November 9 concept: I was absolutely bewildered throughout the entire book as to why these characters would put themselves through this amount of pain for five freaking years. Their whole idea was that once they met on the “first” November 9, each year through the course of five years, they’d meet on that same day, and catch up, but they can’t have ANY sort of contact in between on any of the following days of those years. Only on November 9. WHY. WHY WHY WHY. I mean, I know why, because book’s have to have plots and this was the plot for this book, but WHY. Speaking of book plots, it just so happened that our male main character, Benot is a writer, and our female main character, Fallon, decided that their story should be the plot for his book. So, their “reasoning” behind keeping up with this ridiculous plan, was that they had to stick with it for his book. Because he was basing it off their relationship. BUT GUYS. HE’S A WRITER. HE’S CREATIVE. HE CAN MAKE IT UP. HE CAN USE HIS IMAGINATION. I mean. GAHD. I have strong feelings about their decisions, and yet I wouldn’t have changed a single thing. I absolutely LOVED that they stuck through their five year plan, throughout all the ups and downs.

Ok, Character Time.
Let’s start with Fallon: I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS GIRL. She was feisty, sassy, kind, unnerving, and an absolute pleasure to read about. Her reactions to everything about Ben were so realistic and humbling, I loved reading from her perspective. She never made me feel like I had to pity her for what had happened, because she refused to pity herself, thanks to Ben’s help. Every time she caught herself feeling sorry for herself, either Ben would call her out on it, or she would call it out on herself, and it was totally refreshing, and eyeopening. In her words, Shit DOES happen, and she made me love it. And the way she handled the end, man oh man. No words.

Ben: This man won my heart the second he slid into that booth. From the start ’till the end, he held my heart in his hands, and had the power to do with it as he pleased. The way he just revered Fallon from head to tow completely disarmed her, and it was utterly stunning to see. Watching her grow more and more confident in herself was one of the highlights of this book to me, and it was 90% all thanks to Ben. I was VERY surprised with how the story panned out, and Ben’s part in what happened to Fallon, I was NOT expecting that. I loved the scenes with his manuscript and how beautifully he wrote his past, the scenes where he explained his mom’s suicide, and how he reacted upon it, when he drove to Donovan’s house, it was so well-written, and so well-explained, you would’ve believed and forgiven anything he would’ve said. Those chapters broke my heart, because we saw a side to him that was dark and raw, very different from the happy and funny guy we’d grown to know and love.

Their dialogue: IT WAS EVERYTHING. I was hardcore shipping them. And even though it kind of was “insta-lovey”, and they recognized it, and made fun of themselves for it, it didn’t really feel that way, which I LOVED. My absolute favorite dialogue scene, was when they were “talking dirty” using book slang. THAT WAS EVERYTHING, I was laughing so much. Oh, and when he dropped her off the first day they met, in the airport, and he tricked her into thinking she wasn’t getting a good goodbye, and he reenacts those cheesy airport scenes from movies, where the guy goes running towards the girl who’s leaving, in slow motion. I laughed throughout that entire scene. That’s when I knew this book was a winner.

Kyle: what happened was so unexpected. It broke my heart. And then reading how Fallon’s visit affected Ben on that particular November 9, was just UGH. So many feels. I HATED what happened between Ben & Jordyn, it seemed so rushed and disrespectful towards Kyle, & when we first saw Ben with Oliver in the restaurant to meet with Fallon on the fourth November 9, I just knew things were going to shit now. Yet, how everything turned out was NOTHING LIKE I’D EXPECTED. Colleen took it to so many other levels and places, the woman has a gift. She should do this for a living. :’)

THE END WAS MAGNIFICENT. I don’t have ANY complaints. I’m just. UGH. I’m sad it’s over, but at the same time I’m completely satisfied. It was just a GREAT, GREAT book. I really need to stop gushing now. Alright I’m done. If you made it this far, you deserve a cookie. Here you go. Take it. It’s yours. Damn it, now I want a cookie. Ok, bye bye.


Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

11 thoughts on “Book Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

    • itsabookishthing13 says:

      I’m so excited that people are picking this book up, it was FANTASTIC, I want to re-read it so badly! You’ll love it

      Like

  1. vivalabooklife says:

    i have not yet read a colleen hoover book but based on your review i think this will be my first! (p.s.- hello from the twitter chat yesterday! glad i found your blog on there, it’s amazing!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • itsabookishthing13 says:

      Hi! I’m so glad you liked my review & blog! So sweet of you to say! I hope you love this book as much as I did, it was truly phenomenal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

