The Liebster Award

Hello everyone! I’ve been gone for a couple of days, I was pretty sick for a minute there, but I feel loads better and am ready to get back in the blogging-biz.

the-liebster-award-badge

I was so excited to find out I’d been nominated by Kaytlyn over at The Bohemian Bookworm for this award, I can’t thank you enough. This blog award is meant to focus on new bloggers, and for me to be nominated for something like this is truly an honor.

The Rules

  • Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you
  • Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you
  • Nominate 11 bloggers that you think are deserving of the award
  • Let the bloggers know you nominated them
  • Give them 11 questions of your own


The 11 questions I received from Kaytlyn

1. Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging for the simple reason that my favorite thing in the world is to read a good book and then geek the hell out over it with someone, or as many of us call it, fangirl over it. I first thought I wanted to make a YouTube channel, and join the booktube community, but I have to admit, I was and still am pretty hesitant on it. I decided that my first step should be Instagram, because I love photography, and why not incorporate it to my passion for reading & books? So I decided to join the bookstagram community, and it’s been an AMAZING experience, it’s truly been my home away from home. Now, I decided to start up a blog because I felt like people on instagram wouldn’t like a 30000 word-caption, so I’m blogging to open up a space where I can share and say anything I need to say, the liberty that comes with that is beautiful.

2. What is your favorite part about blogging?

This is a tricky one. I can’t really think of just one favorite part, I truly love the whole process, from creating the blog, and finding out how to make it your own, to writing posts where my feels explode, and looking at the feedback, to interacting with everyone who fangirls just as hard as I do. If I had to choose, I think my favorite part of blogging is definitely having someone to discuss with in the comments, it’s always so much fun when  someone comments on a review I did, and maybe has a different opinion than I do, and it’s great because I get to see different perspectives, and appreciate the book in a different light.

3. Physical Book or E-Book?

Most definitely physical books. Don’t get me wrong, I love e-books, they’re very handy, and I almost always try to get both versions, just so if I can’t bring the physical copy with me everywhere, at least I have it on my phone. E-books are VERY handy, and have many benefits, but there’s nothing like that feeling of purchasing a psychical book from a bookstore, smelling the new parchment, staring at that gorgeous cover, and adding it to your wonderful collection in your bookshelf.

4. What are you currently reading?

I’m currently (re)reading City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. After reading it for the first time back when it came out I was hugely disappointed with the ending, so I never continued on with the series. I feel like it’s time I got over myself and read these books because they’re many readers’ favorites, so I have to be missing something.

5. What’s one thing on your Bucket List?

To travel. I want to visit so many places, like Russia, Thailand, Paris, China… I also want to visit the places my favorite books take place in, like Forks (yeah, I know.), SCOTLAND (*infinite heart-eyed emojis* ❤ ❤ <3), & Hogwarts (it exists, period.).

6. Cake or Cookies?

COOKIES ❤ Ugh. Why do you do this to me? I really want cookies now, and I can only eat soup. 😦

7. What is your favorite book genre and why?

My favorite book genre has to be YA. Anything that’s YA related, I’ll read. It’s been my home ever since I first discovered the genre when Twilight came out on 2008, and even when I’m in my rocking chair on my porch with my grandchildren playing around me, I’ll probably still be reading Throne of Glass series. Always. (See what I did there? Alan Rickman has my ❤ and soul).

The why part is tricky….I guess I love this genre because it’s the one I’ve been able to relate to the most, and the one that’s gotten me through most difficult times in my life. I’ve been able to separate myself from my world for a couple of hours every time I’ve opened a YA book, and the ability to do that is something I treasure.

8. Is there a specific author or book that got you into reading?

I sort of have two answers for this question. The first book I ever read was Junie B. Jones, and I obsessed over them for many years, yet I still wasn’t the bookworm I am today. Then came along the A Series of Unfortunate Events, and I loved them, but my love didn’t last as long as Junie B. Jones did, and after Unfortunate Events I had a really hard time finding something I liked to read. Then came Twilight.

When Twilight first came out, I was there to pick up the book and devour it in a couple of sittings, something I marveled at because it was one of the “biggest books” I’d read at that point, and the fact that I loved it so much, and read it so fast, made me fall in love with the genre and with reading in general. Stephenie Meyer became my life, and Edward became my EVERYTHING. The fangirl in me was awakened. The rest is history.

9. If you could do one thing in the world right now, what would it be?

I’d probably travel to the places I mentioned above. If I had the time & money, I’d be a goner. ❤

10. Read the book or watch the movie first?

READ THE BOOK FIRST. Harry Potter has been my only exception to this rule. And I kind of still don’t regret it…

11. One random fact!

If I could have any pet, it would be an elephant. Oh, and my lucky number is 13. That’s why itsabookishthing13. 😉


I nominate these wonderful humans

Ali @ arctic books

Anna @ alittlebookworld

Ashley @ Fictional Living

Celine @ celinereads

Elin @ littlebookworld reviews

Emmy @ fictionaire

Farah & Laila @ Farah & Laila: BOOKWORMS

Olivia @ Heir of Glitter

Sakina @ A Forest of Books and Memories

Serena @ livinginthepagesofbooks

Shikha, Leah, and Nina @ Fiction and Tea


Here are your questions

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What book or book series got you into reading?
  3. What was the last book you’ve read?
  4. What is your favorite book genre and why?
  5. What are some of your guilty pleasures – it could be TV shows, food, books, movies, etc.
  6. Going to the movie theater or staying at home with Netflix?
  7. If you could travel through time, to what era would you go and why?
  8. Shop for books online or at bookstore?
  9. If you could have lunch with one fictional character who would it be?
  10. What is you favorite quote?
  11. What are your blogging goals?

Thank you Kaytlyn for tagging me, I had a wonderful time participating in this! Those of you who were tagged, there is no pressure to participate, & those of you who choose to do this, I look forward to reading your answers!


Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

 

12 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Jess I. says:

    Congrats on the award! I love discussing and connecting with people in the comments too :). The community is so diverse but it’s cool that we connect over one thing: books. Junie B. Jones got me into reading too! Though looking back she wasn’t my fave series/character, I did still read a lot from her haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

