Fangirl Guide to Valentine’s Day: Books & Movies

Valentine’s Day is coming. That means cheesy rom-coms reruns, stores full of stuffed animals bouncing off the shelves, and flower stands on every street corner. You can spot in the wild some of the most frantic-looking people you’ll ever encounter, yelling at their phones trying to make a last-minute reservation, because they forgot to call ahead, and their wives are probably going to have a fit when they find out.

If you like that sort of thing, that’s fine. All the power to you.

If, like me, you’d rather have an all-fangirl Valentine’s Day experience, at home with your best friend, family member, partner, all of the above, or alone, then I might be able to help you.

First, let’s talk about some books that make our hearts have premature ventricular contractions (make our hearts skip a beat, for those of you who haven’t graced your eyes upon No Strings Attached).

anna-lola-isla

  • Anna & the French Kiss
  • Lola & the Boy Next Door
  • Isla & the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

These three books have made me feel the giddiest, happiest, lovesick lunatic, they’re three of my favorite books of all time, and some of my most reread books. They’re companion novels, so each book centers a different couple, but I suggest reading them in order, because some cameos happen throughout the book, and it might spoil you. My personal favorite of the bunch is definitely Isla & the Happily Ever After. *infinity heart-eyed emojis* ❤


 

rainbowgoss_largewide

  • Eleanor & Park
  • Fangirl
  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell

You can’t go wrong with Rainbow Rowell’s books. They’re guaranteed to make your life better, just by looking at them. Her undeniable wit and charm will haunt your dreams, and your life will be better after reading them. Guaranteed. These books are more “real-life” centered, dealing with relationships that feel genuine and raw, not sugarcoated or bubblegum-y. In a good way.


The Queen of New Adult novels. Colleen Hoover takes the cake with this genre, all who cross path with her books bow down to her. I really can’t sit here, talking about how much I love her books, because I’ve done that too many times, and frankly, I’ll sound like a broken record. Just trust me. She’s a goddess.


As for movies, there are too many to count, so I guess I’ll go with my favorites. These movies are guaranteed to make you laugh, cry, eat a bunch of ice-cream, and make your life a little sweeter.

Feel-Good Light-Hearted Romantic Comedies:

  • 10 Things I Hate About You
  • Bridget Jones Diary
  • Runaway Bride

These movies are classic romantic comedies, these are some examples, there are MILLIONS of fantastic movies, that are heartwarming, and beautiful, just fire up your netflix, type in romantic comedies, and your in for an amazing evening watching movies that will make your feet feel light.


Cry-Worthy Romantic Movies:

 

  • The Notebook
  • A Walk to Remember
  • Titanic

These movies are guaranteed to make you cry your heart out, and enjoy the hell out of it. They’re the kind of movies that make you fall head over heels and then have your heart ripped out of your chest and has it for dinner, but in a good way, because your going to love the movie afterwards. Seriously. Trust me. (As if you haven’t seen these already, I mean, come on.)


 

Weirdly Unconventional Romantic Movies:

  • 500 Days of Summer
  • Edward Scissorhands
  • Garden State

These movies are not your typical-romantic-comedy kind of movie, they tell a wonderful story, with romance mixed in. They’re sweet, raw, real, and beautiful. They’re quirky, and different, so it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but for those who enjoy that type of movie, they’re going to love these.


 

That’s all I’ve got for you, guys, I hope you read/devour/enjoy them! Let me know if you’ve already read these books or watched these movies, what you think of them, and if you think some books/movies are missing from this list, and if for that, my head should be on a pike. ❤


Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

 

6 thoughts on “Fangirl Guide to Valentine’s Day: Books & Movies

  1. schakarin says:

    Rainbow Rowell will always be my go-to author for cute but real relationships. I don’t know how many times I’ve reread Fangirl but if I ever need comfort, that’s the book I’ll turn to. And Stephanie Perkins is definitely the queen of squishy, cute romances. I would say that I liked Anna the best, though. As for movies: you can never go wrong with a Nicholas Sparks when it comes to heartbreaking romance movies!

    Liked by 1 person

    • itsabookishthing13 says:

      AGREED! I’ve only read Fangirl once, but as soon as I finished it, I wanted to reread it! I’m going to have to do it. SOON.

      Like

Leave a Reply

