i messed up // book tag

So, I don’t know if you guys know this, but I have a problem.

A big one.

I’m booktube-aholic. I spend a ridiculous amount of hours (daily) staring at my computer screen, watching booktube videos, because WHAT IS LIFE WITHOUT BOOKTUBE?

BIG BANG THEORY omg i need help

Around the third-hour mark of my vegetating in front of my screen, I came upon one of Grace’s (from @gracewithabookinherface on YouTube) videos, whom by the way, is the sweetest, kindest, cutest human being on the planet, if you haven’t checked her out, WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE.

Anyways. Where was I? Oh, right. Yes. Grace’s video. It was called the I Messed Up book tag, and I fell hardcore in love with this tag. It was created by the AMAZING Chami (from @ReadLikeWildFire on YouTube), and I just had to participate. I wasn’t actually tagged, but I couldn’t NOT DO IT, and anyways, both Grace & Chami said we could say they tagged us, so… “Grace & Chami tagged me” 🙂

Ok, on to the ACTUAL TAG.

A CHARACTER APPEARANCE THAT YOU MISREAD AND IMAGINED DIFFERENTLY

I don’t know why, but Throne of Glass had weird effects on my imagination. First off, Dorian Havilliard. My slightly-delusional imagination decided to take control on this one, and imprint the idea of Dorian as an adorable medium height blonde guy, NOT a tall, dark-haired sexy beast (still Team Chaol, though). Second, Rowan Whitethorn. I could not, for the life in me, picture him as a long-white-haired, tattoo-clad YOUNG guy. I can’t even describe the image I have of him in my head, it’s literally indescribable. I have this image of him turning into a hawk, and after that popped into my head, I haven’t been able to see him differently.

parksandrechelp

 

A CHARACTER NAME THAT YOU’VE BEEN PRONOUNCING WRONG

Once again, Throne of Glass is the answer. I tend to read quickly & skip over names a lot, so it took me a while to notice that I’d been reading Aedion as Aiden, so now every time I reference him or say his name out loud, I always call him Aiden, AND MY BRAIN IS HAVING SUCH A HARD TIME ADJUSTING TO REALITY. I also have an issue with pronouncing Manon’s name wrong. I pronounce it MA-non, with the emphasis on the MA part, instead of Ma-NON. I don’t even know if that made sense, but yeah. Also, Aelin was a hard name to learn, but now I pronounce it without a problem.

realizations

AN OVERUSED TROPE THAT IS YOUR GUILTY PLEASURE

I have so many answers to this question. My main guilty pleasures are reading about the main character’s discovery of his/her magical side or that he/she is a long-lost prince or princess. I also love the half human/half something else trope, and my absolute favorite trope is the “tortured” hero, *ahem Edward Cullen ahem* #sorrynotsorry

sadie-sorry-not-sorry-awkward

A CLICHÉ CHARACTER TYPE THAT YOU LIKE BETTER ON SCREEN THAN READING ABOUT

Ok so for this one… it’s tricky, because it depends on the book. MOST OF THE TIME I love “the quirky best friend” in books, but sometimes I enjoy the character better when translated into screen, because I APPRECIATE IT SO MUCH. One good example is Simon from The Mortal Instrument series. I detested him the first time I read the book (back in 7th grade), I found him SO annoying, and insufferable. (This opinion changed DRASTICALLY after re-reading the book, nine years later. Now, he’s my favorite character…) Watching his character play out in movie-version & TV-version of the series made me love/appreciate him SO MUCH MORE. I swear, Simon is the reason I watch Shadowhunters, he’s my absolute favorite. So yeah. That’s my answer. I LOVE THE QUIRKY BEST FRIEND.

SIMON encanto you

A WORD/PHRASE THAT YOU LEARNT BECAUSE OF ITS USE IN A BOOK

Sassenach. The iconic word (to those of us who are devoted to Outlander) has stuck with me ever since I came across the masterpiece that is Outlander.

sassenach

HAVE YOU EVER NOT READ OR COMPLETED A REQUIRED READING BOOK FOR SCHOOL?

Um, yeah. Quite a bit, actually. I just really hate being forced to read a book, and “required reading” was hell for me in my school. I didn’t really have a problem with the books required for English class, but the ones required for my Spanish class were TORTURE, they were truly the most boring books I’ve ever read in my life. The only book title that I can remember right now is Don Quixote, I actually did finish this one, but I didn’t enjoy it (I know, it’s a classic, but still, I’M SORRY). I honestly can’t remember any book titles, I basically blocked that whole experience out xD. Lesson for teachers: don’t force me to read books, and maybe I’ll read them.

KRISTEN STEWART i don't like being told what to do

HAVE YOU EVER (OR WANTED TO) SKIPPED A CHAPTER FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF A CHARACTER THAT YOU WEREN’T INTERESTED IN?

I’ve definitely wanted to. But I never have, I just can’t bring myself to do it, I’d feel so bad! I also get really paranoid that I’d miss crucial information, or that something big would happen in that chapter to a character I liked… I just get too paranoid. But yeah, of course, I’ve had the urge to do it many times, but have never actually done it. For example, Manon’s chapters in Heir of Fire were SO FREAKING BORING. I adore Manon, but my love for her blooms in Queen of Shadows, in HoF I couldn’t handle her chapters, because they were so confusing, weird, and frankly I was just UNINTERESTED; I wanted to read about Celaena, I didn’t care about anyone else. Don’t worry, that changed in Queen of Shadows, that book was extraordinary.

Office-karen-shrug

HAVE YOU EVER CANCELLED SOCIAL PLANS TO READ A BOOK?

Yep. I literally do this every week. It’s a wonder I still have friends. Although I think they’ve come to expect this of me. Maybe they’re just used to it. But come on, sometimes you just CAN’T BE SOCIAL, books need love too!

NEWGIRL rage chill


 

So, that was the I MESSED UP tag, I hope I made some sense, I was just too excited writing all of this.

WHO I TAG:


Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS


*I don’t own any of these gifs.

xo

 

13 thoughts on “i messed up // book tag

  1. Perusing Pages says:

    A+ gif usage! This tag looks fun, but super hard! I was trying to think of my own answers and then I saw you tagged me and I’m like o_O. lmfao Thank you though. I’m going to do it… after exhaustive thinking and agonizing over my choices!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

