Book Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

“Am I not merciful?”

Rating: ★★★★★

BJTV4548

There are no words in the english vocabulary that can help me express how UTTERLY FANTASTIC this book was.

It’s uniqueness gripped me from the start to the finish of the book; I literally couldn’t put it down, I read it in two sittings.

Normally I don’t talk about audiobooks, but I HAVE to mention this one. I read along to the audiobook, and it’s seriously one of the wisest decisions I’ve ever made; it was just so COOL. And that sounds really lame, but there’s seriously no other word for it! The sound effects and different narrators made the whole story an EXPERIENCE like no other. I highly, highly recommend checking the audiobook out, because it was truly phenomenal.

Adjectives I can use to describe the awesomeness of this book? Let’s see…there’s: (in)tense, action-packed, suspenseful, thrilling, funny, romantic, heartbreaking… need I say more?

The setting: I wasn’t expecting to enjoy the setting as much as I did, because the story kicks off in the future on a different planet, and 97% of the book takes place in space. That, to me, was very different. AND IT WAS PERFECTION.

The main characters: KADY AND EZRA ARE MY OTP.

illuminae

My heart literally broke when we
reached a certain part of the book, and it literally made my rating go from 5 to 2 stars. But never fear, these amazing authors know how to do their job. Mad props to Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. *insert clapping hands emoji here* Ezra’s humor and fantastic personality won me over (literally) two sentences in. That’s another thing, I wasn’t expecting to laugh so much with this book, but this book was SO FUNNY! The subtle moments of sarcasm, and wittiness/cleverness astounded me, they were so GOOD, especially every time Ezra opened his mouth. GOD I LOVED HIM. On the other hand, I was a bit more apprehensive with Kady because I didn’t trust her…not that I thought she was evil, but that I didn’t trust her intentions with Ezra. You could tell he was madly in love with her, but she was harder to read. I started to trust her once I read her journal entries. Her relationship with her mentor was beautiful, I loved their IM chapters, and when they met face-to-face for the first time….wow. What a scene.
Ok, so the part where I was completely immersed in the story, was when they were listing off the casualties, and then put the pictures of every single person; it made the book seem eerily real to me; I’ve truly never experienced something like that. EVER.

AIDEN’S TRICKERYIMG_3291: unforgivable, man. I suffered so hard because of him…it? At least now I don’t have to feel guilty for liking him. He was such a complex and unique character, it was so interesti
ng reading from his perspective. From the point on that we find out about what Aiden did, I basically checked out and decided the book was crappy, because HOW DARE THEY. But I powered through and I’m 100% glad I did.

THE MAJOR PLOT TWIST at the end, with BeiTech director. BRILLIANT. And the last words “Now run”.
OHMYGODPERFECTION! (Whilst I was listening to the audiobook, that was literally my favorite part. The intensity and pure genius of it all was crippling, in the best way.


Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

