Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

“You look … better than before.”
Was that a compliment? I could have sworn Lucien gave Tamlin an encouraging nod.
“And you hair is … clean.”

“I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.”

“I threw myself into that fire, threw myself into it, into him, and let myself burn.”

“Ah. The Suriel told you nothing important, did it?” That smile of his sparked something bold in my chest. “He also said that you liked being brushed, and if I’m a clever girl, I might train you with treats.”

(Sorry for all the quotes I COULDN’T DECIDE, DON’T MAKE ME.)

Rating: ★★★★★

ITNQ1265

This is one of the most outstanding books I’ve ever read.

Starting of with the fact that ACOTAR is a retelling of one of my favorites love stories ever, The Beauty and The Beast, you already KNOW my feelings will explode all over this book.

Basically, this PHENOMENAL book is the first book in a new New Adult (NA) fantasy series that blends fairy tale retellings with fairy lore. While this one is a retelling of The Beauty & the Beast, the other books will have elements of other fairytales. We follow a 19 year old huntress named Feyre, who kills a wolf in the woods to feed her family, and after that “tiny” incident, a beast shows up at her house, demanding Feyre’s life for the one she took, but instead of killing her, he takes her into his home in the fae territory.

This story is beautiful, romantic, steamy, filled with drama, fairy politics, revenge, heartbreak, and just about everything you could ever ask for. The story and the writing just kept gripping me page to page, I ended up reading the entire book in a sitting. Yes, you read that correctly. In one sitting. I COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN. The wonderfulness that escapes every sentence, graced upon us by Queen Maas, is an unadulterated, raw, pure kind of perfection. The story is a beautiful rendition of a classic tale, made new again thanks to Maas’ incredible mind.

Ok, I’m about to unleash all my spoiler-y feels, so if you haven’t read this book, maybe stop now, so I won’t ruin this MAGNIFICENT BOOK for you!

LET’S GET TO THE CHARACTERS:

  1. Feyre (aka Beauty aka Belle): she, out of all the characters in this book, was the one who won my heart. Her unyielding loyalty, to her family, to Lucien, to Tamlin, to herself, she just became a sort of character that you just ROOT for, even in the most horrible of times. Sarah J. Maas has a gift of making her female protagon77493_originalists the people you want to have on your side of the camp, to defend until your heart/lungs can’t take it anymore. She applies a a perfect mixture of bravery and vulnerably in her heroines, loyalty to a fault, hardworking and witty; watching their story development consumes you, to the point where you can’t help obsess over them. If you’ve read her Throne of Glass series, you know exactly what I’m talking about. Part of the reason I was so excited to read this new story was because I was having this need of having that one protagonist who I’ll just GET, where everything will click, and I’ll respect & adore her to the end of the world…Sarah J. Maas is the person I needed. And she delivered. Feyre made some of the most difficult decisions I’ve ever seen a main character take, and she did it all for the people she loved, and I respect the hell out of that.
  2. Tamlin (aka Beast): this man. THIS MAN. Words can’t express how in love I am with this man. While Feyre won my heart, Tamlin has my body and soul. HE IS EVERYTHING THAT’S WONDERFUL, and I’ll love him to the end of time. He’s the most unbeastly beast you’ll ever meet, the kindest character you’d least expect to be kind, adorably awkward who only ever wanted to make Feyre happy. He showed her wonderful places, gave her everything she asked for, filled her days with beautiful colors and paintings, and loved her fiercely.
  3. Feyre’s family ➳ Nesta, Elain, & their father: I hated their guts. BOY, did I hate them. Her sisters pissed the living hell out of me those first chapters because of their ingratitude and lack of appreciation towards Feyre; she put her life at risk DAILY just to provide for her family, while her sisters did nothing to help her, acted spoiled, and leeched her for the money she earned. Meanwhile their father basically gave up, because of his injury, stepped back so his daughters could take care of him instead of the other way around. I think Elain was the sister I most disliked, because she was painted as the “sweetheart”, but not once did she volunteer herself to help Feyre make ends meet; while Nesta annoyed Feyre, we did see other aspects of her that made her character real to me, & that just wasn’t the case for Elain. While Nesta & Elain could rot in hell for KOKB0344all I cared, I did have emotional ties with their father. His misfortunes were truly horrifying, his experience where his leg ended up shattered was heartbreaking, and his goodbye scene with Feyre proved that he really did love his daughter, and wanted the best for her. After Tamlin sends Feyre back to her family, we get to see a different side to her family, and it was nice to see Nesta step out of her one dimensional role, and got to see some depth to her. When we found out Nesta tried to save Feyre, it brought tears to my eyes, because HELLO, ICE IN HEARTS ARE BEING SHATTERED.
  4. Lucien (Lumiere AM I RIGHT): he was one of my favorite parts of the book, every one of his lines were perfection, and I loved him from the start, EVEN WHEN HE WAS BEING A TOTAL B TO FEYRE, he was just so snarky & charming, I could forgive any “unkind” word he said to Feyre, although let’s be real, there weren’t THAT many, he was mostly more into teasing her than being mean to her. He has a roughness and vulnerability that just compels you to him and I just ugh…I adore him so much.
  5. Rhysand: so I hated him at first. Then I REALLY hated him. THEN I DETESTED/DESPISED him, then I tolerated him, and now he’s sort of okay. But no, I’m not onboard with this ship. I am REALLY not onboard. Sorry. BUT. I am hearing talk about the next book being a Persephone retelling, and if that’s what’s going to happen, there’s a slight chance I might change ships, just because PERSEPHONE IS MY FAVORITE and her story has always captivated me, so I might not have a choice, you know? We’ll see, because Tamlin has me, so it’s not going to be easy for Rhys to win me over. BY THE WAY, WTF IS UP WITH THIS MATING THING? NO. I AM NOT OKAY WITH THIS. I WASN’T OKAY WITH IT IN BREAKING DAWN AND I’M SURE AS HELL NOT OKAY WITH IT HERE.17927395
  6. Amarantha (annoying old witch): ugh I just really wanted her to die already, you know?

SOME OF MY FAVORITE SCENES:

  1. Starlight pool scene, Tamlin shows his romantic, steamier side, & I’m LAH-VIN’ IT.
  2. Party scene #1, when Tamlin is more beast-like, and bites Feyre. THAT SCENE KILLED ME. PERFECTION. YAS. THANK THE GODS. HELP ME QUEEN MAAS.
  3. Party scene #2, when Feyre gets a tad tipsy and dances for Tamlin while he’s playing his music. OH MY GOD THAT SCENE WAS EVERYTHING I COULD’VE ASKED FOR.
  4. Tamlin says I love you. TAMMY YOU’RE PERFECT.
  5. Tamlin sends Feyre back to her family to keep her safe. TAMMY WHY NO STAHP, YOU’RE TOO PERFECT, but BAE SHE NEEDS TO STAY WITH YOU!
  6. FEYRE GOES BACK TO SPRING COURT. YES HONEY, go get your man!
  7. Feyre fights for her man during those rigorous three months, Under the Mountain.
  8. FEYRE dies and OUR COLLECTIVE HEARTS SHATTER.
  9. Tamlin is the real MVP and finally kills Amarantha.
  10. FEYRE IS TURNED INTO A HIGH FAE SO SHE COULD LIVE. (all hail..)

Throughout the story I was meticulously looking for the similarities and differences between the original fairytale and this book, since it’s my favorite Disney movie EVER. I LOVED both the similarities and differences, because they all WORKED for this particular story. I’m so excited to read the next book, especially if it’s a Persephone retelling, since it’s my favorite myth EVER. Queen Maas is choosing wisely, I tell you.

Let me know your thoughts on this majestic book in the comments, & if your Team Tamlin or Team what’s-his-face 😉


 

Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

13 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

