Book Review: A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

“I do not know why you two are circling each other like stars. It is not my cosmic dance.”

Rating: ★★★★

UUCW5945

This book was sort of fantastic. I was sold on it because a good friend said it was a mix between Harry Potter & Pirates of the Caribbean…two of my most favorite things in the entire world. I was not disappointed.

The story picks up four months after A Darker Shade of Magic ended, and it was a thrilling sequel, I enjoyed it more than its predecessor, because it was more action-packed, it was funnier, and had A LOT more of Rhy, which I appreciated. He brought humor, and charm, which I thought the first book lacked A BIT.

I can’t really say a lot without spoiling, since this is a sequel, but if you haven’t read the first book, I have a full review on it, which you can find here.

The only reason I’m giving this book a four out of five stars was because it was slow, it’s the same issue I had with the first book. I found it to be a little unnecessary since we had gotten a slow build-up in the first book, and assumed that this one would be a faster read, which in it’s defense it was, but it was towards the last 200 pages.

Can we talk about that first chapter for a second? WHAT A WAY TO START A BOOK. That first chapter had my heart racing, with a wide grin all the way through it. Classic Lila Bard. She’s a rockstar. The following chapters were fantastic, but that beginning was epic. I don’t know if I loved it so much because it was so reminiscent of Pirates of the Caribbean, but it’s one of my favorite first chapters of all time.A Gathering of Shadows Final

I enjoyed many parts of this story, MAINLY the bromance between Kell & Rhy. Every time they shared a scene, it was a mixture of tension and banter, AND I LOVED EVERY SECOND OF IT.

The newest characters introduced in this story ROCKED MY WORLD. ALUCARD EMERY = SOUL MATE STATUS. I’m willing to step aside, though, to see my Rhy+Alucard ship sail. I don’t know about you, but every time Alucard was mentioned, all I could think about was Captain Jack Sparrow, with his long hair, drunken banter, and charm. AM I RIGHT OR AM I RIGHT?

I FINALLY got attached to Kell in this story. One issue I had with the first book was the lack of “connection” I felt towards our main character, but in this book, we see more depth, and he won me over. His loyalty to his brother, to his family, his feelings for Lila, & how he’d imagine seeing her…he got me.

The only chapters I truly found boring, but thankfully weren’t THAT many, were the ones in White London. My distaste for those sections might also have to be with how FRIGHTENING the male’s voice was, in the audiobook; it was hella-CREEPY.

The ending: I was honestly not THAT surprised by the ending, I saw it coming the minute we found out who was ruling in White London. It did left me feeling VERY curious to see how the story will progress, and I can’t wait for A Conjuring of Light, the third and final book of the series!


INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

