april wrap up & book haul // 2016

It’s gonna be maaaay. Had to do it. tumblr_nn07rpjspc1rwhmiro1_r1_500I WILL NOT APOLOGIZE.

This month was very hectic, so I didn’t do too much reading, apart from the fact that I’ve been fighting off a reading slump, what feels like FOREVER, so having completed any amount of books is a treat.

Let’s get started with the WRAP UP.

So this month I read FOUR books, AND I really enjoyed all of them! None of them WOWED me, but I did enjoy them, and three of the books I read I had been VERY hesitant to read, so the fact that I enjoyed them makes me very happy.
So this month I read FOUR books, AND I really enjoyed all of them! None of them WOWED me, but I did enjoy them, and three of the books I read I had been VERY hesitant to read, so the fact that I enjoyed them makes me very happy.

  • Attachments: This book was a very fun, fast read for me, Rainbow makes the words just fly out of a page, and make me connect with the characters right off the bat. I gave this book 4/5 stars; my favorite all-time Rainbow novel is still Fangirl, so I have my standards really high!
  • City of Ashes: I was so very pleasantly surprised by this book! My sister is not the biggest fan of the Mortal Instruments series, so she downplayed how good of a book this actually was, and maybe that was a good thing, because I went in epecting it to be a bad book, when in reality it’s a pretty great book! I enjoyed it very much, and gave it 4/5 stars.
  • A Gathering of Shadows:MXIX2089
    With this book, it was the exact opposite of the situation I explained above, my sister LOVED this book to pieces, and hyped it up a LOT..Ireally enjoyed this book, but I probably would’ve enjoyed it more had it not been for the hype surrounding it, because I had lowered my expectations quite a bit after reading ADSOM. I have reviews for both books, where I explain everything I loved, and didn’t love about this series. The review for A Darker Shade of Magic can be found here, and for A Gathering of Shadows can be found here. I gave this book a 4/5 stars.
  • Red Queen: Again, THE HYPE behind this book was insane, my best friend RAVES about this book constantly, but I’ve been putting it off for a while because of the MILLIONS of mixed reviews. All in all, I ended up REALLY enjoying this book, and wrote an in-depth review, which you can read here! I also gave this book 4/5 stars. THIS MONTH WAS ALL ABOUT THE FOURS.

Now, for my BOOK HAUL.

Ok so this month was kind of awful for my wallet, although I think I end up saying that every month… *nervous sweat emoji* I bought a couple books, but also got sent a couple, so although it looks like a hefty haul, I really didn’t spend TOO much…. hopefully? Ok, let’s get on with it.


OTHER POSTS from this month:

Let me know what you guys bought/read this month & what you thought of them!❤


INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

8 thoughts on “april wrap up & book haul // 2016

    • itsabookishthing13 says:

      RIGHT?! Hopefully, since my uni lets out early, and the heavy blunt of the work was thrust upon us at the end of april, that may will be kinder to me! I hope you have a great month, reading & otherwise! ❤

      Like

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Aww, sorry to hear that you were expecting a bit more from AGOS. I loved that whole series and also rated that book four stars. 😛

    I really did not enjoy Red Queen but would love to read your in-depth review on it! For me the characters were unlikeable and the world-building was kind of contrived, and the book as a whole just felt very ‘been there, done that’ for me because it reminded me of so many other things I’ve read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fictional_living says:

    This post just reminded me I need to do my wrap up post and I didn’t prepare for it!
    I’m really glad you liked Red Queen! I loved it so much when it first came out, and I thought everyone else did too, but when Glass Sword was being released I started reading a lot of negative reviews and it made me sad! It’s nice to know someone else loved it, too.

    Like

    • itsabookishthing13 says:

      I really did, I’m really glad I liked it too! I was really hoping I wouldn’t hate it because it’s my best friend’s favorite book, and so many people didn’t like it! I was very hesitant going into it, but I really liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

