Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

“The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”

Rating: ★★★★

RMGF7859

Let me just say…I did not see this coming. I went into this book fully prepared to not give into the hype. THERE ARE SO MANY MIXED REVIEWS, I was kind of frightened/slightly curious to see in what camp I’d land in. Well, darn it, here I am. I really liked this book! I put off reading this book FOREVER, even after my best friend pushed it on me for what feels like years (but is probably like 1 year). Now, I will say, it WAS very similar to a LOT of series I’ve read before, and the world building was confusing at times, so that’s why I’m giving the book a 4/5 stars, but the story it self was very fun and exciting.

I’m having a really hard time cataloguing this book in one genre, because it’s basically a dystopian book, with a lot of fantasy elements in it. For those of you who don’t know what this book is about, it’s basically the story of a girl named Mare Barrow who lives in a society where you’re separated by your blood type; either you’re Silver (aka the badasses, who run the world with their special abilities, some could call it magic, but it’s really more a specific ability), or you’re Red, who are the people who don’t have any abilities, and are treated like dirt, the lowest of the lows, and who live in terrible conditions. Mare, who is a Red, despises the Silvers, but one day finds herself working alongside them when she unlocks a powers inside herself that she didn’t realize she had. As damage control, she’s thrust upon the world of royalty, and she has to pretend to be something she’s not in order to save herself and her loved ones.

That’s basically what Red Queen is about, I’m about to go into the spoilery details, so if you have not read this book yet, go do so, so we can discuss!

As I said, I got a LOT of different bookish vibes from Red Queen, & by that I mean, that the story reminded me of a lot of different books, such as The Selection, The Hunger Games, Throne of Glass, The Lunar Chronicles, Divergent, and more. I can pinpoint out specific details that are downright “recreations” of each series I just mentioned, and most of the time I liked it, but also a lot of the time, I didn’t…because it was a little too similar…you know?

I wasn’t too emotionally invested in the characters; at first I wasn’t…at all. I found the story pretty slow, up until Cal showed up. Once he did, that’s when the story became interesting to me, and I found myself wanting to pick up the book amidst my reading slump!41vtpdcaq5l-_sx330_bo1204203200_

One thing I would’ve love to see more of was the other Silvers’ abilities fleshed out, instead of focusing on Mare’s ability. Don’t get me wrong, I understand why we focused on her abilities instead of the others, but there was so much room for awesome sequences or battle scenes where the other Silvers’ abilities could’ve been showcased. Throughout the entire book we’re TOLD that every Silver have abilities, but very few times we’re SHOWN. My favorite scene was the one where Julian helped Mare free her friends from their cage, by using his “singer” ability, and controlling all the soldiers. THAT WAS AWESOME. I hope we get to see more of the abilities, because that’s part of why the book was such a fun premise!

I did enjoy Aveyard’s writing quite a bit, the story was easy to understand although it was such a complex world. Considering this was her debut novel, I’m quite impressed! Her battle sequences were very intriguing and exciting, but some times were a bit confusing, I had to read a few of them a couple of times to understand them all, but all in all, I really enjoyed it.

I did see coming Maven’s betrayal, although I was really hoping it wouldn’t happen, because I liked him SO much! At first, I was on Cal’s ship, but grew to love Maven, because he was just so perfect! Still, his perfection was what made me doubt him, so when we learnt about his betrayal, I was not surprised at all, but very saddened, because I liked him so much. I really enjoyed Cal’s character, he was a very realistic prince-type of character, MXIX2089where he felt a lot of responsibility for his family and for his position as heir to the throne. His reaction toward Mare’s request of him “betraying” his father was completely understandable, and I still can’t believe that Mare even had to ask him, I MEAN COME ON, you guys BARELY have a relationship as it is, YOU THINK HE’D BETRAY HIS FATHER JUST LIKE THAT? Also, once I saw how Maven pushed the idea onto her, that Cal would “always choose her”, that’s when I knew he was not on our side.

I really enjoyed Julian’s character, he was probably my favorite out of all of them, and as I said, his ability scene stole the show for me. The one character’s death I truly mourn is Lucas, HE DIDN’T DESERVE TO DIE, IT JUST SUCKS AND IT’S UNFAIR. Now, the one death that I didn’t mind as much, but did mind who actually did the killing, was Cal’s father. That scene was terribly heartbreaking, and my heart went out for Cal, and what he was forced to do by that evil queen. Maven’s betrayal was sickening, and though I did see it coming, I didn’t expect THIS outcome, letting his mother manipulate his brother kill their father. THAT WAS JUST TWISTED.

So those were basically all my thoughts on this book, thank you so much for reading! Let me know if you read this book and what YOUR thoughts on it are! ❤


INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Allie says:

    I loved this book so much. What I loved most was how we really got a feel for Mare’s emotions. I felt her emotions like I was going through what she did in the book. When Maven betrayed Mare I literally set my book down and had to process it through my head until I was ready to pick the book back up. That’s how I felt in the end of the book. Once it was over I couldn’t read another book. I just had this feeling, and if you love books as much as me I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. It was a feeling of completion and satisfaction that just sits over you like a fuzzy blanket. For me when that happens I normally can’t do anything else for the rest of the day, unless I pick up the sequel (which I loved!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

