Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

“The villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”

“I was looking for you, too.”

Get ready for the world’s biggest scattered, turn-around from my original review for the first book, because this book CHANGED IT ALL.

Rating: ★★★★★

IMG_5759

Let me just say…I have never felt like this before. Never have I been SO COMPLETELY & UTTERLY WRONG about what I thought I wanted and loved. I’m just gonna warn you, this review will probably reference my review for ACOTAR a lot, which you can find here, because frankly, I need to make fun of my past self, and shake my head in disbelief until it detaches from my neck. Graphic? IT’S THAT AMAZING.

Since this is a sequel, I’m heading straight into the spoiler-y section, & I don’t want to spoil anyone that hasn’t read it, so IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK, RUN TO YOUR BOOKSHELF OR BOOKSTORE & READ IT. And if you haven’t read the first book, DEVOUR IT SO YOU CAN READ THIS ONE. Ok, I’m gonna talk about the book now. Ok, bye people who haven’t read it! ❤

Ok, so I think we all had a collective heart attack at the last portion of the book SO LET’S UNLEASH ALL THE FEELS TOGETHER.

So many things happened in this book. We saw some character development, character introductions, drama, PLOT TWISTS, sexy times, and SO MUCH ACTION.

I thought I’d loved the first book, but this one just blew me away. Sarah J. Maas’ writing developed to a whole new level, and she wiped me out. You could just tell how much Sarah believed in this story, she loved it so much, and wanted to tell it perfectly and do it justice. I read that she had written this sequel right after ACOTAR, and revisited it and decided to scrap it and start from the beginning, because THAT’S how much she cared about this story, and wanted to tell it the best possible way. You can tell all of that simply by her writing, because it’s so poetic, hilarious, cunning, witty, basically everything good in life. This book could very well be my favorite book TO DATE. The story, the characters, the setting, the plot line, it’s all been imprinted on me.17927395

So in the first book, I was wholly set on Team Tamlin, because he was a god sent from above, and I lived and breathed for him. I even made a list of all the times he rocked my soul, and as I re-read that list, it breaks my heart a bit. Sarah likes to keep the audience on their toes, and change everything once we think we know where the story is heading. That’s exactly what she did in ACOMAF. I can’t even begin to tell you how upset I was at the beginning portion of the book, when we were watching Tamlin becoming a very un-Tamlin-esque version of himself, where he completely shuts out Feyre. A part of me could understand why he did the things he did, I understood his mentality, and that’s why I found him such a heartbreaking character, because he truly thought his methods would protect Feyre, and therefore were “the best”. But they weren’t, they were destroying her. When Rhys stepped in, and plucked Feyre out of the terrible environment she was in, we all heaved a sigh of relief. What followed, we could never even imagine.

My opinions on this magnificent character changed so drastically, I still can’t wrap my head around it. In my review for ACOTAR, I barely mentioned Rhys, and when I did, it was basically spitting his name out in spite, because I was in love with Tamlin. I have to quote myself, to show you why exactly I think I might be having an aneurysm.

“Rhysand: so I hated him at first. Then I REALLY hated him. THEN I DETESTED/DESPISED him, then I tolerated him, and now he’s sort of okay. But no, I’m not onboard with this ship. I am REALLY not onboard. Sorry. BUT. I am hearing talk about the next book being a Persephone retelling, and if that’s what’s going to happen, there’s a slight chance I might change ships, just because PERSEPHONE IS MY FAVORITE and her story has always captivated me, so I might not have a choice, you know? We’ll see, because Tamlin has me, so it’s not going to be easy for Rhys to win me over. BY THE WAY, WTF IS UP WITH THIS MATING THING? NO. I AM NOT OKAY WITH THIS. I WASN’T OKAY WITH IT IN BREAKING DAWN AND I’M SURE AS HELL NOT OKAY WITH IT HERE”

Yeah. That happened.

IMG_5772

Can we just appreciate this fan art? PERFECTION. (PS. This was one of my favorite scenes source)

I said it wouldn’t be easy for Rhys to win me over. It would take a miracle. Then, ACOMAF happened.

All of my doubts about him were squashed in this book, every bad thought I had of him… I’m a changed woman. That chapter where he explained in detail how the mating bond took place…that chapter opened my eyes. I was already falling for him by that point, but that chapter was the one that sealed the deal for me. I fell, and I keep falling.

Their relationship development was the highlight of this book for me. I believed in their friendship. I believed in the strength they gave each other. I believed in the love and bond that formed out of trust and respect. It shook me how beautiful their relationship seemed, especially considering how horribly her relationship with Tamlin had ended, by him locking her up and shutting her out when she most needed him, and his help/support. Tamlin did not consider her as his equal. He thought of her as his property; a vulnerable, breakable treasure he had to protect, no matter what. Rhysand did no such thing. He saw her as his equal, his match in every way, he never pushed, he let the relationship form organically, even knowing they were mates, he put her happiness above his own, until that day when she just broke. Bit by bit, he picked up the pieces, and put Feyre back, and without even realizing it, Feyre was doing the same to him. Also, before I continue, I have to say that I loved the fact that PTSD was a part of this book, because it made the story very authentic; even though we’re talking about fictional characters living in a high fantasy world, Feyre’s emotions were very human and real, and the way she thought, her mentality, after everything she’d been through, it moved the story in a direction that brings me to tears, because we aren’t just talking about wars, and what those entail; we’re talking about a person’s emotional stability after a trauma, and Feyre suffered tremendously at the end of the first book, so the PTSD aspect of this story just blew me away. Ok, going back to Feyre and Rhys: their relationship was the highlight of this book for me, because it emphasized two untamable wild beasts, that somehow worked perfectly together; they were unbreakable. He never tried to lock her away, never chastised her when she refused to sit back and watch as her loved ones were being hurt, instead he loved her more for it. It’s heartbreakingly beautiful. He’s everything Tamlin’s not; he’s everything Feyre needs. It’s further proof they belong together.

IMG_4989Ok, now that I got ALL OF THAT out of the way, let’s talk about the new side characters THAT ROCKED MY WORLD. If Feyre’s and Rhys’ relationship was the highlight of the book, the new cast introduced was the REALLY CLOSE second. I FELL IN LOVE WITH THE NIGHT COURT; THEY ARE THE ULTIMATE SQUAD GOALS. Mor is the best friend I wish I had, Cassian is the sassiest, hottie I could ask for, and Azriel is a beast, in the best way possible; his mysteriousness, his powers, his personality, GOD he alone was a highlight. I would kill for a spinoff series featuring him as the MC. I also loved seeing more of Prythian, LOVED the Summer Court scenes, because we saw such a different side to this land we’d been accustomed to. BUT VELARIS. THAT PLACE SOUNDS LIKE HEAVEN ON EARTH, and most of my favorite scenes were when they were exploring that wonderful city. Some of my other favorite scenes were when Feyre was experimenting with her new inherited powers, and finding out her potential. Watching her blossom into the untamable being she became was another highlight for me. Feyre’s sisters were also a huge part of why I loved this book so much: I’M SO EXCITED ABOUT THE LUCIEN & ELAIN MATING PLOT LINE, THAT WILL BE EPIC, and CAN’T WAIT FOR NESTA AND CASSIAN TO HAPPEN, IT MUST HAPPEN, especially now that they are fae. At least Elain is, I don’t know what the heck Nesta is, but I’m hoping for the best, and expecting the ABSOLUTE best 😉 😉

Ok no but seriously. THAT HEART ATTACK I EXPERIENCED AT THE END OF THIS BOOK IS NO JOKE. When I thought that beautiful mating bond had been destroyed, I almost shattered. BUT, BUT, BUT, I had hope. I hoped it was only the bargain bond he had destroyed, AND I WAS RIGHT. Jesus those pages were giving me so much anxiety. AND WHEN I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE VISIT TO THE HIGH PRIESTESS. HIS EQUAL IN EVERY WAY. Yup. THAT HAPPENED. Feyre, High Lady of the Night Court. What a title. I like the sound of that. Now, Feyre will be back at the Spring Court, spying & reporting back to her court, and hopefully bring the whole operation down from within. IT WILL BE THE EPITOME OF EPIC-NESS. It pains me that Feyre & Rhys won’t be together for a while, but the potential this story line has will make up for it. I CAN’T WAIT.

I think I’m going to end it here because I could literally go on FOREVER, and this review (?) is long/weird enough, honestly my reviews are so scattered and fangirl-y, I apologize. Let me know if you’ve read this book, what your thoughts on it are, and if you haven’t read it, TRY TO EXPLAIN YOURSELF. Thanks for reading, guys! ❤


Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Trisha @ Vive Les Books says:

    haha yes to all! Great review, you explained everything I felt throughout ACOMAF. Rhys is everything and more ❤ I'm a bit nervous about the conclusion of this trilogy. We've never seen Maas close a series before since ToG is still running. I JUST WANT A HAPPY ENDING.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

