The Hamilton Book Tag

So, in case you weren’t aware… Hamilton has basically taken over my life. Everything revolves around Hamilton. I reference it daily (even when I know the person I’m talking to won’t understand, but I’m mentally high-fiving myself anyways), listen to it from the moment I wake up, all day, until I go to sleep, & fantasize about sitting in the actual theater watching the musical.

OABJ8057In case you’re still living under a rock, which props to you if you are because being unaware of Hamilton this long deserves a round of applause, Hamilton is a musical on
Broadway all about Alexander Hamilton, one of America’s Founding Fathers, the American Revolution, and basically the formation of our government.

I was tagged on my bookstagram, so I decided to make a blog post out of this tag because NOBODY SHOULD EXPECT ME TO CONDENSE MY FEELS IN AN INSTAGRAM CAPTION. (thank you @languageofrebellion for tagging me!)

Ok, LET’S GET STARTED. For a better experience, I recommend listening along to the musical. Trust. Me. It’s fun.

THE ROOM WHERE IT HAPPENS: Book world you would put yourself in

Harry Potter. My answer will ALWAYS BE HARRY POTTER. Even before reading the books, I was obsessed with the wizarding world, & now that I’ve read the books, my obsession with this world has quadrupled. I can so clearly see myself in that Ravenclaw common room, sipping on butterbeer, and reading a book. Ugh. Goals.

1446581737-world-without-harry-potter-gifs-magic

THE SCHUYLER SISTERS: Underrated Female Character

This one took me a while to figure out, but I’m gonna go with Scarlet from the Lunar Chronicles. I’ve never understood why so many people are quick to say that the second book of the Lunar Chronicles, is the one they “dislike” (in comparison to the other three books), because I found it to be even better than the first book. In the second book, Scarlet is introduced, and I instantly fell in love with her character. She’s badass, fights for what she wants & believes in, and is loyal to a fault. Her sassy personality was refreshing, and watching her story play-out with Wolf was one of the most exciting adventures I’ve read about in a long time. SERIOUSLY GUYS, WHAT’S NOT TO LOVE?

anigif_enhanced-buzz-18766-1426150175-7

MY SHOT: A character that goes after what they want and doesn’t let anything stop them

Aelin Ashryver Galathynius. This woman became my INSPIRATION after reading Queen of Shadows, watching her overcome so many obstacles through her life, fighting her way out of an awful situation as a child, and ultimately reaching her goal… I’m being cryptic just because I’m afraid of spoiling people, but if you’ve read Throne of Glass series, you know what I’m talking about. Point is, this woman is everything.

nene-fierce

STAY ALIVE: A character you wish was still alive

I won’t say who, only the book, because again I don’t want to spoil anybody: Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows. If you know me, you know who I’m talking about. I’ll always cry my heart out for this character. Changed my life and the way I view people in general. J.K. Rowling is a living goddess for creating such complex, and beautiful characters in her wizarding world.

tumblr_mzy2osnli41skae3ko1_400

➳ BURN: The most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read

Crown of Midnight. THIS BOOK WAS THE BOOK THAT MADE ME FEEL 1000000000000 FEELINGS AND IT DESTROYED ME. I won’t name the couple I’m talking about, but yeah. This book was a beautiful disaster.

tumblr_me29v2jzmz1qfsdgh

➳ YOU’LL BE BACK: Sassiest villain

For this one I have two answers; first, Aro from the Twilight Saga: I’ll always have a special place in my heart for him, because even though I hated him to the very bottom part of his nonexistent soul, I kind of adored how frustratingly cruel and weird he was. The other answer I have is (movie) Peter from the Divergent series. In the books, I hated him, I really couldn’t stand him, but in the movies, he’s kind of the reason I go see the movies, because the actor Miles Teller plays this characters FANTASTICALLY, where he’s able to deliver the same lines from the book, but change his character into a sass machine, where everything he says I find charming, even though he’s acting the exact same way the character from the book acted, the very same character I hated. DOES THAT MAKE SENSE? Miles Teller was born to play Peter, I swear.

tumblr_inline_o45vvy7crj1tdw5cm_5001

➳ THE REYNOLDS PAMPHLET : A book with a twist that you didn’t see coming

Illuminae. ILLUMINAE WAS AMAZING. I have a full review up on my blog, which you can find here. If you already read the book, check it out so we can share our feels, and so I don’t spoil anybody here who hasn’t read it!

16133581

➳ NON-STOP: A series you marathoned

The closest thing to “marathoning” I’ve done recently is the Harry Potter series, but I can’t even say that one with certainty, because I read a couple of books in between. I seriously suck at marathoning series, and even worse at finishing series, I try to make them last as long as possible. The important thing is that I’ve read them and have since changed my life. PERIOD.

tumblr_inline_ncvwn25mnw1qk4if7

➳ SATISFIED: Favorite book with multiple POVs

Winter from the Lunar Chronicles (really the Lunar Chronicles in general). MARISSA MEYER IS THE QUEEN OF THE POVs. Normally I’m not a HUGE fan of multiple POVs, but the Queen is the Queen for a reason. She makes each character have a distinct voice from each other, and each POV is vital to the story. This series in general was a work of art, and is on top of my “to-reread” TBR.

lhdjwhbtaa_x

WHO LIVES, WHO DIES, WHO TELLS YOUR STORY: A book/series you feel like will be remembered throughout history

Not to be cliché and use Harry Potter series YET AGAIN, but seriously this series WILL BE REMEMBERED THROUGHOUT HISTORY. The heart of the story itself is universal, and will be relevant to generations to come, which is what’s so magical (pardon the pun) about this series; it’s a sort of connection between generations, because young readers and older readers alike are enjoying this series EVERY DAY, and connect because of it. The phenomenon that is Harry Potter WILL live on, and it, without a doubt, deserves to.

giphy


 

That’s it for the HAMILTON BOOK TAG, I hope I made some sense and you were able to enjoy it.

WHO I TAG: (if you plan on doing this tag, feel free to do it in a blog post or instagram post!)


Let’s be friends!

INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // GOODREADS

 

24 thoughts on “The Hamilton Book Tag

  1. Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms says:

    MELANIE WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME. You’ve literally chosen all my choices. Must… brainstorm… hahaha THANK YOU FOR THE TAG ❤ Hamilton is life.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. deethebookaholic says:

    I’m going to do this tag on my blog tomorrow because 1) I LOVE HAMILTON 2) I SANG ALL THE SONG TITLES AND THE ACTUAL SONGS 3) I LOVE BOOK TAGS AND FINALLY 4) LIN-MANUEL MIRANDA IS TALENTED TO THE T. I must do this tag! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Perusing Pages says:

    Thank you! I was already planning on doing this one without a tag because I’m Hamilton Trash right now. Definitely agree with Harry Potter being remembered forever!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Leah @ Fiction and Tea says:

    MELANIE I LOVE IT! (And agree with everything here, particularly the first paragraph;)) I will definitely have to attempt this tag! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Leah @ Fiction and Tea says:

    MELANIE I LOVE IT! ❤ (and agree with everything said in it–particularly the first paragraph;)) I'm definitely going to have to attempt to do this! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • itsabookishthing13 says:

      No problem Cel, I hope you do it, and sort of not, because your answers will make me break my neck from all the nodding, ya know?
      HAHA just kidding, I really do hope you do it. I’m so glad you joined the Hamilton community! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment